PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

easterntraveler

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 29, 2012
Ok so I tried and failed. This is my first time attempting to smoke a pipe properly.
Pipe used: Meerschaum I bought in Iraq in my deployment.

Tobacco: Mac Baren vanilla cream
So I opened my tin. WOW did it smell great. Packed my bowl using the 3 step method and off I went.
First it started off well but after 3 puffs I immediately had issues.
Throughout the entire smoke which lasted about 20 minutes I would get a little ting in my mouth as if I were eating some spicey food. Also it tasted nothing like vanilla. (I do not think it is suppose to though please correct me if I am wrong). I had to relight about 8 or so times which leads me to believe is the reason for the short smoke. However the bowl never got too hot to hold (Success).
I felt like I had to constantly puff on it because if I did not the bowl would die. Also am I suppose t have a cherry in the bowl during the entire smoke? If so that didn't happen either.
Will wait for tips before my next smoke. Thank you in advance.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
Welcome to the forum East. Your experience is not unlike most of us just starting out. It will come together naturally with more practice. MacBaren's Vanilla doesn't have a strong vanilla flavor or scent IMO.
It's a great tobacco, but not if you're expecting an strong aro. You might want to try 1Q instead. It's milder and has a stronger flavor.
I don't have great advice to give other than to examine your packing method. There are lots of videos on that subject. Don't give up - pipe smoking is something of an art forum. When it works, it's sublime.

hawk60ce

Lifer
Jun 11, 2012