PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 1, 2014
The title isn't entirely accurate to what I'm trying to get across but it's the best I can do without saying "Drinking Water With Your Pipe", which would just give people all sorts of crazy ideas.

I'm still learning the ropes, but last year I didn't seem to get as severe a reaction to my pipes as I do right now, and one of the main differences I can think of is that last year I usually had a can of something to drink while I was smoking.

So I've been wondering:
Do you find drinking something while smoking your pipe to significantly reduce any negative effects?
(Any and all comments on interactions between your pipes and drinks are welcome, the more information the better.)

bigpond

Lifer
Oct 14, 2014
Absolutely. There are a cadre of old salts out there with properly seasoned tongues that think not at all about loading up Gawiths sopping wet flakes and burning them down to ash. For we mere journeymen a beverage is all but necessity unless smoking something exceptionally cool. I try to drink something that will balance the ph of whatever I"m smoking.

elbert

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 10, 2015
I like lemonade, for the pH reason mentioned and the refreshing and cleansing citrus.
I recently switched to the German Packing method--I seem to get less tongue bother all around. Probably because I'm relighting less frequently, and I'm not puffing as hard to keep it lit.

jvnshr

Staff member
Sep 4, 2015
Baku, Azerbaijan