PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

skulltula

Lurker
Aug 17, 2015
few weeks ago, my fiance's uncle had gone to an auction. Knowing I am interested in pipes, he found a couple of lots and won them for me on my behalf. One of these pipes from the lots is a meerschaum. Nice-looking, bent, and with an amber stem, this sure looked like the win of the year. Now, I'm no expert on meers, and I'm certainly not one for restoration. But the previous owner left a severely thick cake. I have reamed it multiple times with a napkin and high-proof alcohol (rum), and cleaned the stem such that it draws flawlessly. It would be ready to use, except...
I cannot actually draw through the stem while it's attached. The cake on the bottom is so thick that I think it blocked the actual draft hole with quite a large amount of crud, for I cannot poke a simple pipe cleaner through. And even worse than this, is that there's a dug-out portion of the cake which pokes straight through the bottom of the bowl.
I cannot post pictures at this time due to time constraints, but I wanted to leave this here for options-- should I send it to a pipe restorer, or is it a total loss?

xrundog

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 23, 2014
Ames, IA
It's not a total loss. It reads like you have an old pierced style draft configuration. That is, the hole is drilled down through the shank, and then the chamber is pierced to meet it. This results in a kind of j shaped draft. It's hard to clean so most old timers didn't bother. They'd smoke it til it clogged and get another pipe.

Sending it to a repair guy would be easiest. I'd expect any one of them could clean it up and fix it. But it might cost you as I think it would take some time. Plus old meerschaums can be delicate and some people don't like working on them.