PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

altalexandru

Lurker
Jan 30, 2015
Hi

I am new to pipe smoking and I have difficulties finding an online store in Canada.

Can you recommend one please?
There are many online stores in the US but I am not sure where can I get info regarding the duty /customs fees for smoking pipes. And accessories. Or tabacco.
Could you please help me to get on the right track?
Kind regards,
Alex A.

drezz01

Can't Leave
Dec 1, 2014
You won't find an online store in Canada typically. My understanding is that because taxation of tobacco is handled at the provincial level it is unlawful to sell tobacco products across provincial borders (this is just my understanding, I'm no lawyer). Having an online shop that can only sell within the province probably isn't feasible.
I've ordered from 4noggins with success, and smokingpipes. I got dinged on a cupojoes order but that was probably because I broke a golden rule: if you're ordering tobacco from the states just order tobacco. You don't want to inflate the declared value by purchasing 200grams of tobacco and a pipe, and some accessories etc. It has a better chance of getting flagged at customs if the declared value is $250 vs $60. Usually I like to order more to make me feel better about the shipping costs but in this case shipping is much cheaper than getting hit with duty.
Some retailers will disguise the contents (I'm not going to say who or what they mark it as for obvious reasons). Apparently if customs discovers this you can get hit with an additional nominal penalty.
Regardless of all of this - it is still much cheaper to order from the states. If 1 out of 5 (that's my current count) gets caught you still save a ton of money. But budget for the worst. Assume you're going to get hit with duties so if you do it's not a crushing blow.

sw0snuff3r

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 3, 2014