PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

domdaddy

Lurker
Jun 5, 2015
Hello all!
Total newbie here! I have just acquired two Dunhill pipes, one I was thinking of keeping and one that I thought I might sell on. I was hoping that I could get some advice on what to do with each of them, in regards to cleaning etc? The one that I would like to keep (A 1962 Dunhill Shell Briar) has a brown stem, which seems unusual to me, as most of them seem like they're black, would this be damage, or perhaps just the colour that it is supposed to be?
Any words of advice are much appreciated!

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Pictures will be helpful to determine what needs to be done but it sounds like your 1962 Shell may have a Cumberland stem. post pics and we'll go from there.

ericthered

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 29, 2014
Suffolk, VA
Welcome to the forum! The brown stem is due to oxidation, or it may be Cumberland, as previously mentioned. if it's oxidation, there's a shiny black stem under the brown just waiting to be let out. A quick search of this site, or rebornpipes.com or youtube will give you all you need to know about removing oxidation from pipe stems.
We'd love to see pics of your before/after progress, should you decide to do it yourself. A word of caution, however. If you're new to pipe restoration you may want to sell the pipe/s as-is. Many Dunhill collectors would rather buy a dirty, unmolested pipe than one that has been restored poorly.
Anyway, good luck with whatever you decide and let us know the outcome!

framitz

Can't Leave
Oct 25, 2013
If you got an indyracer would you use shade tree mechanic to check and tune.? Shel

wilson

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2013