PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013
I just made an offer for a 1962 Dunhill Shell pipe, an attractive sandblasted item from an auction site. (I'm not mentioning the auction site because there might be a rule about mentioning other sites, but I'm sure you know which auction site I'm referring to.) The seller made a counter offer of barely less than $200. I'm new to the hobby and desperately want a Dunhill, but just can't see myself spending $350-400 for a new Dunhill. (Primarily because I can't afford that.) Opinions? Thanks for reading.

jgriff

Can't Leave
Feb 20, 2013
There are way too many variables for me to give you a price specifically. So, it might be fair or it might be overpriced. However, the easy answer is that estate Dunhills are not uncommon by any means, so you can assuredly find "some" estate Dunhill at almost anytime. Now, if it's the exact one you want and it's a fair price, well that's a different question.
I was recently in the market for an estate Dunhill Cumberland around $150-$175 and found quite a few but somehow ended up with a Rad Davis. (For which I blame this site and Harris in particular).

pipestud

Lifer
Dec 6, 2012
Robinson, TX.
What size/shape is the Dunhill? Can you let us know the nomenclature? When you say sandblast, is it a Shell, Cumberland? What is the condition of the bowl and stem? 1962 Dunhill pipes are coveted items and We may be able to give you a good ballpark figure of value if I knew a little more about what you are wanting to purchase.
Pipestud

sparrowhawk

Lifer
Jul 24, 2013