PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

thbg

Might Stick Around
Aug 30, 2011
I have been smoking a pipe for over 10 years now and just re-learned a good lesson I plan on practicing more often. Drying. I usually let tobacco sit out for a few minutes and then let it sit once packed for a few more, but I left two coins of PS LBF sit out (not on purpose) for over 24 ours and the blend smoked amazing this evening when I lit it. (And I already liked the results I was getting the way I was doing it before). It was the zen smoke.
While 24 hours may be a bit much in some cases, it may be just enough in some and possibly not enough in others.
The lesson is: take time to give it a good drying and reap the awards of the extra step.
Just wanted to pass it along. Happy puffing! thbg

keith929

Lifer
Nov 23, 2010
I too just recently rediscovered the benefits of drying. I bought a blend from my local B/M that was advertised as an aromatic. I was horrible or so I thought. In frustration I let it dry for a couple of days and surprise ! It took on an entirely different flavor. The taste difference was nothing short of amazing. Now I always take that extra step. It's worth it.

topd

Lifer
Mar 23, 2012
Emerson, Arkansas
Found a tin of Peterson's University Flake I had opened months ago and forgotten. It was pretty dry

and ruined I thought. Tried a bowl and it smoked real nice....

waznyf

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2012
Texas
Drying is always good for providing a better smoke on many levels. I am usually either too busy or lazy to get around to it, so it is probably only 50% of the time that I let it dry out. Smoke is still good no complaints, but drying would make it better I am sure.

Although I believe that it also depends on the blend. Certain blends arrive to you already fairly dry while others are damn near soggy.

dburrows

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 2, 2011