PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

twangthang

Can't Leave
Sep 15, 2012
I have been bulking up on my tobacco stores as of late. The winds of change and tobacco legislation and created a perfect storm. It has allowed me permission

From SWMBO to lay in a supply of tobacco.

I am not a prolific smoker so a tin will typically have time to sit around and wait while I try my best to smoke it. The time can be compounded if I have several tins open at the same time.

I currently have a tin of Peterson's University Flake opened sometime in February.

The first bowl of this blend was an awakening. I loved the flavor and got all the hints of plum etc. My second, third and subsequent bowls were not as good. I enjoyed it, but as of a couple of weeks ago, still had half the tin left over. I never seemed to have the same initial experience.

I attributed it to my ever evolving tastes in pipe tobacco.

I later acquired a tin of Escudo. I smoked a few bowls and absolutely fell in love with it. I went to the forums and posted my experience and a few mentioned the heavy hand of Perique in the blend. I really didn't feel like I got all that much Perique. I felt it was slightly peppery, but not overwhelming.

Now fast forward until earlier this week.I decided to man up and finally finish off the tin of Peterson's so that I could have opportunity to try another blend from the cellar.

I am trying to sample enough tobaccos to know my preference well enough to bulk up.

The Peterson's had only been left in the tin and not in an air tight container. When I opened it the flakes had dried quite a bit. They hadn't gone crispy but broke apart quite easily.

I see to have found the initial flavoring.It burns like a dream, and tastes wonderful.

I had since left the tin of Escudo to the side while I enjoyed the dryer and more improved University Flake.