PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

katarn07

Might Stick Around
Mar 1, 2016
Hello all,
I'm new to the hobby having just picked up my first corncob over the weekend at a hole in the wall tobacco store. I had a heck of a time finding one with all the shops cluttered with those e-cigarettes and hookahs! They didn't stock good pipe tobacco and the guy said I could just pack some tobacco he brought out from the back in an unmarked bag free of charge. How nice of him! Smelled like cherries and the smoke was pleasing to all who were present as I lit it up. The taste was... I don't know. I didn't burn my tongue at all but it seemed kind of flavorless. Anyways I'm rambling now.
My question lies with the actual pipes. No offense to anyone here who thinks differently but I think the corn cob is hideous. It's too rural for my style. I got it because it was cheap and I would like to spend the money on tobaccos rather than a briar pipe to see if this hobby is even worth getting into. If I ever upgrade to a briar pipe, what should I pick? The Dr. Grabow's are about $15-$20 cheaper. Are Parker's really that better in function and aesthetics? I've read good things about Grabow's as pipes but aesthetics are an important factor for me. Are they on par with one another or do the Grabow's look cheap in hand? It's hard to make choices like this shopping online when you can't see and touch and hold these things before purchasing them!
Thanks for any input you can offer.
EDIT:
This is one Parker I was looking at.
http://www.gqtobaccos.com/pipes/parker-london-briar-no2-smooth-walnut-brown/#.VtXbOeam1YU
Shipping would put it around the $45 mark for me in the USA. I haven't looked hard to see what Parkers are available from an American retailer and how much they would cost. Could anyone tell from the chamber dimensions how long of an average smoke that would give? Thanks!

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013