Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shawnofthedead

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 5, 2015
After smoking a bowl of tobacco, I know that you are suppose to run a pipe cleaner through the stem and the shank; but then I'd also rub the inside of the bowl gently to get rid of extra ash. Is this necessary? Would it affect the forming of the cake (especially in the case of new pipes)?

jiujitsubowl

Can't Leave
May 19, 2015
Muskegon Michigan
I rub out the inside of the bowl every 4-5 smokes personally. Dont ream it hard or scrape it out intensely and it shouldn't affect the cake buildup. A good guide of healthy cake build up is about 1/16" of an inch. That sounds precise i know, but I am an engineer lol.

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
I simply rub out the bowl with a folded up napkin or paper towel and will also do this with a new pipe. Doing so, in my experience, will not impede the build up of cake. Either way, you only want to have a very thin layer and try to keep it under control. There are those who dislike having any cake in the bowl whatsoever.

ericthered

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 29, 2014
Suffolk, VA
After every smoke I scrape out the ash and dottle with the spade end of my pipe nail. Then I run a bristled pipe cleaner through the stem & shank, then I form it into a "U" shape and twist the "U" around the interior of the bowl a few times. I then repeat these steps with a fluffy (non-bristled) pipe cleaner. I don't know if it's my process or just because I don't smoke very often (once every week or so), but I haven't seen an appreciable accumulation of cake in any of my pipes, and that's just how I like it.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK