PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomerlm

Lurker
Jan 14, 2015
hey,

im pretty new to pipe smoking, altough I've started long ago, im not smoking very frequantly.

In my first few smokes I had trouble lighting it up, and I manage to fix the problam by learning how to better compress the tobacoo and light it with harder air sucks (pardon my language :roll:). But this made me think: can the tobacco be burnt too much? I mean if I apply extra heat to it, can it cause flavor problams and such? also does lighting the tobacco with matchs is better than lighter? what's behind that? sorry for any grammer mistakes and I hope my questions was clear!

forest7

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 8, 2014
There is thousands reason to s-l-o-w smoking. From more flavor and pleasure to smoking,until take care about pipes and your life.

Packing...Just don't do tight pack. Loose pack is o.k.. and use your tamper proferly.

Lighting .. Any soft flame is o.k. weather matches or big lighter... etc..

Keep in mind "Happy Smoking" as much as you can.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I prefer matches because the flame is softer and because it is somewhat more easy to direct the flame.

I don't think it affects the tobacco so much as it can cause charring of the briar or cob. Also, with a

match I feel I can light the top layer of tobacco more evenly. Maybe equal to all those reasons for using

matches is that they are traditional and provide a nice ritual, closer to pipe smokers of the past centuries,

which is one attraction of pipe smoking. The sound and feel of matches is more pleasing to me than one

more gizmo in my life. I own a lighter, and have flirted with a good buy on a Zippo, but for me, matches rule.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL