Do filters help prevent goop from traveling up the stem?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Status
Not open for further replies.

guitarguy86

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 6, 2012
I'm loving my pipe, and all the tobaccos I've been smoking, but I've about had it with the goop traveling up the stem. It's like a fly that won't let me sleep now matter how many times I swat it away. Will a filter help cut back on this goop? I don't really want to use a filter, but I will if I have to!

zanthal

Lifer
Dec 3, 2011
Pleasanton, CA
Yes.
It's not really goop, it's condensation from the burning and the moisture in your tobacco ... I hate the taste of it myself, but I still have no desire to use filters.
You can benefit from drying your tobacco out for a period of time before you smoke it (by leaving it out in the open air).
It also helps to draw more slowly, although that's another technique I'm not very good at remembering to do.
Or, if you have the extra money ... Peterson sells "drinkless" pipes that are made in such a way to trap a decent amount of the moisture inside the mortise before it ever gets to where you can taste it. They're called Peterson system pipes.
Filters are the cheap alternative, but, I still don't use them even if it means the dreaded "kickback" occasionally, as Lawrence quipped it.

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
This build up of condensation is also a sign of smoking too fast. Slow down and you should be fine. Once I learned to pace myself I never had the need to dry out tobacco.
And quick run through with a pipe cleaner while you're smoking never hurt anyone.

radio807

Can't Leave
Nov 26, 2011
New Jersey
And quick run through with a pipe cleaner while you're smoking never hurt anyone.