PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

midna

Lurker
May 6, 2013
Evening all,

Newbie here, pleased to make your acquaintance!

To avoid an essay, here is the long and short of my problem:

- Being able to enjoy a pipe inside is a rarity

- It's awfully windy in Ol' London Town

- Can't track down a wind cap for the life of me
Any creative minds out there who have overcome this with household items? Hate to smoke my briars so hot!

midna

Lurker
May 6, 2013
Yessir, that'd do nicely. Been scouring the internet for a UK seller.

Minimum order is $5.00 + shipping to the UK is going to cost a small fortune. Not willing to spend that much on a bit of metal.

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011
Northern New Jersey
Might be able to make one out of a metal bottle cap, providing it fits your bowl. Or cut your own out of an aluminium soda can. Tin foil will work in a pinch. I buy from 4noggins on eBay, four at a time. Also good for holding contents of half smoked pipe in pocket. Why don't you PM me and I can send you one for free.

midna

Lurker
May 6, 2013
Thanks for the suggestions :) Will get handy with pliers then!

No worries about sending one- the shipping cost outweighs the cost of the doodad in this case, but I very much appreciate the offer!

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011
Northern New Jersey
No worries. I'd cut a circular disk from a can, slightly larger than the bowl, and crimp the edges upwards, with pliers to fit the bowl. Leave a little flap sticking up so you can remove it. Then drill five air holes. Should work nicely. Might give it a go myself.

redbeard

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 2, 2013
I have thought of making my own because its so windy some days. I'm glad this was brought up.

allan

Lifer
Dec 5, 2012
Bronx, NY
I've seen these devises before, but not sure what they do. I smoke outside often and even in the wind, don't seem to have much trouble.
What do they do?
thanks

kashmir

Lifer
May 17, 2011