PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

psychpipes

Can't Leave
Sep 4, 2013
Nature Coast of Florida
Hey Gents,
I had made a post before saying I was interested in Walt Disney pipes. Well, I snagged one off ebay a yesterday. I haven't gotten to examine it in person yet. It looks a bit knocked around, but it didn't look beyond saving. I'm no expert, but I am interested in your opinions. I've been collecting a few Disney tobacco-related items and have been keeping them on display in a curio cabinet. To my eye, I think a good restoration might be able to get this baby in smoking condition. Do you all think, based on the pictures, that this might be the case or does it look too far gone to invest money into a restore? Money isn't really my concern here. I just don't want to invest in a restoration if the pipe won't be smokeable. Here are the pictures from the listing:
Some fills and heavy oxidation.

Looks good to me on this side.

Charring and/or heavy tar build up on the rim.

A view from the front. Marks on rim actually don't look too bad on this image.

Nothing really to report on the bottom. Looks like one small fill.

Close up of the fills and logo.

Thanks for any advice.

bryanf

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 16, 2013
To be honest with you, that pipe looks cleaner and in better condition than just about any pipe I own, so I'd just do a salt/alcohol treatment to remove ghosts (might have to do it several times), let it dry out for a week, and smoke it.

psychpipes

Can't Leave
Sep 4, 2013
Nature Coast of Florida