PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nupraptor

Lurker
Dec 7, 2017
Hello everybody. Im new to the pipe smoking scene...about 20 bowls in. Ive noticed im having a hard time smoking the coarse cut tobacco from my tobacconist. I end up with a lot of the heavier peices not ashing. I compare this to "early morning pipe" which smokes well to a fine ash. Any tips?
Edited by jvnshr: Title capitalization (please check Rule #9)

It could be an inconsistency of the moisture, with some pieces holding more water and a different combustion temperature. Some tobaccos are like that, especially aromatics. And, especially if the tobacconist is mixing a couple of blends together to make a house blend. If it isn't affecting your quality of smoking experience, I would just say, let it be. You could try drying, but the topping will dissipate, making it not taste as good. But, I also have no idea what the blend is, or how it is affecting the smoke. Just a guess.

nupraptor

Lurker
Dec 7, 2017
Yes, it looks like I wasn't very specific. Its non aromatic latakia heavy blend. One problem is that with areas not transferring the ember well (unburnt), I get odd pockets of unburnt tobacco...almost like twigs in my bowl. I will dry it out more and rub it as recommended. Thank you. I will let you know later how it turns out.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Rub it out some more. Some say a spice grinder will reduce uneven cuts so they burn better; I haven't tried it, but it may be worth a try.

mackeson

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 29, 2016
Rubbing it out more will certainly help, but I personally like fairly course for good flavor and longer burning. Maybe try drying it out more while leaving the coarseness and see if that helps

pianopuffer

Can't Leave
Jul 3, 2017
NYC