PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

papajoe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 9, 2014
While going through eBay I can see pipes that are made from different kinds of wood. Some of them I am familiar with, but some I don’t recognize with regard to pipe making. Especially these ones: redwood, rosewood, and, ebony wood.

Are they good to make pipes from, or are they just cheap pipes not really worth buying?

Can you enlighten me please.

Reactions: Piping Abe

jsponge

Lurker
Sep 7, 2014
Well. I'm still fairly new to this whole past time, but...... I'll throw this out there. I have a few good quality pipes, that I paid top-dollar for. I also have a few 'El Cheapos' from when I first started and didn't want to get too deep in cash. I don't pretend to understand most of this yet, but one of my BEST smokers is a $40 Lorenzo I bought early on. I've read similar things posted by people more experienced than I, and my conclusion is this... I don't think you "have" to spend a ton of cash for a good-smoking pipe. On the other hand, I'd say if you go on the cheaper end, sometimes you'll get what you pay for. Except for Cobs. I still keep a few MM's in my regular rotation, mostly while I'm at work.

greengrass

Lurker
Aug 6, 2014
Briar is the most used material for a reason. Different materials do make very good pipes as I understand it, I have really no personal experience other than cobs. More on it here:
http://pipedia.org/wiki/Alternative_Woods_Used_For_Pipe_making
http://pipedia.org/wiki/Pipes_in_Other_Woods

darwin

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 9, 2014
The absolutely most cost effective alternative to briar is the humble corncob. Averaging less than ten bucks a pop a cob can last for years and provide a very high quality smoke that some actually prefer over briar. A cob may not look as spiffy as a pipe made of wood but in terms of value and utility they are flat impossible to beat.

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana