PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kabong30

Can't Leave
Jun 2, 2012
So, I'm new to pipe smoking as a hobby and I'm starting to develop some preferences. As I mentioned in another thread I prefer a pipe that can be broken down easily because I'm a little obsessive about cleaning them. My Falcon and my Petes fit this need nicely. Another thing I've noticed is that beyond the obvious budget concern I think I prefer "estates" to new pipes. While a new pipe is cool, there's no history there. When I get my hands on an "estate" I immediately start thinking about the history of it and how it must have been a companion to someone on some "adventure" (while I realize rationally that those "adventures" probably weren't past the local grocery store). Granted, I have been exceptionally lucky in the couple of estate pipes I've gotten in that they haven't been abused or disgusting (that's also because I'm picky), I like that sense of history in an item.
When it comes to tobacco, I'm into aromatics. I'm getting to the point where I smoke VERY slowly and I like being able to pick out the different flavors, plus it keeps the wife off my back because they smell nice. Again, the Peterson blends seem to be drawing me in, but one thing I read is that their aromatic blends are very similar and I find that to be true to an extent. I'm also tracking down all the little tobacco shops in my area and I'm finding that pipes are not as plentiful as I thought they'd be so hunting for things on the internet has become a new pastime while I smoke here at my desk (but I'm meeting some nice people :) )
Overall, I am just having a really nice time and learning a ton with every passing day, so, thanks to all of you (and the folks at Tamp and Puff) for sharing your knowledge and experiences. They have been very valuable.
See you around the boards!

baronsamedi

Lifer
May 4, 2011
Dallas