PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

digitalshave

Might Stick Around
Jun 21, 2011
As I stated in my hello post I am relatively new to tobacco. That said I have read so many posts describing

the seemingly wonderful characteristics of flavor experienced by many of you. So far when I have smoked my pipe

I have experienced almost no flavor at all (aside from the initial taste imparted by lighting and If I smoke the pipe hot) I would appreciate any suggestions you could impart. Note: My current setup: Dr. Grabow straight/bent pipes A tobacco suggested by the guy at local B&M (aromatic??)called "My Blend" and Zippo lighter with insert allowed to burn a few seconds before lighting to reduce naphata?? taste. Packing method, 3 stage (child,mother,father)technique relatively loose

Jun 17, 2011
Sounds like so far everything you have done right, just relax and enjoy it, if its a new pipe it could take a bit before you get the full flavor of the tobacco, or could be a mild tobacco with little taste regardless of what is on the package

jankomatic

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 12, 2010
Tampa, FL
It could be the blend. Smoke slower. I find I get more flavor from my pipes after they have had a few bowls in them and have a bit of cake built up. Try some different blends as well.

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
Some tobaccos are like good moonshine. Sipping is better than gulping. Take your time and don't over think what you are doing.

nathaniel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 4, 2011
I've been smoking pipes for several years, and I find that I don't really taste much on my tongue either. But rather, I taste more (or smell?)when I "frenchy" inhale, i.e. blowing smoke out my mouth and inhaling through my nose a bit, just to get the nuances of the blend.

lordnoble

Lifer
Jul 13, 2010