PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

janosh

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 1, 2015
Hungary
Hi all!

First of all I want to say sorry for my English; my native language is the 2nd most difficult language of the world (after Chinese): Hungarian. :) I hope you'll understand my thoughts.

I just want to know what do you think about dedicated pipes? I'm new to the hobby and a bit confused. I saw that most of you have so much (at least more then me) beautiful pipes. How do you use them, or categorize them according to different tobaccos?

I don't like flavoured tobacco (cherry, vanilla and others) but I mostly have aromatics (Peterson's ).

Thanks for your tips!

Janos

May 4, 2015
This is what I do:
34bb0496-ea08-404a-8177-3bdadbfbdaf8_zpsh4wopjit.jpg

Your English is just fine!

billypm

Can't Leave
Oct 24, 2013
I believe that Virginia, VaPer, VaBur, and Burley blends can all be smoked in the same pipes without significant ghosting and carry over of flavors. Latakia blends need their own pipes, as do the scented "soapy" British Lakaland blends. Aromatics are trickier, in that the flavoring you like with one blend might not be so nice when you taste it in a bowlful of a different tobacco.
I think you can't go wrong by just smoking the blends you like in the pipes you have and seeing if you notice a problem. It may be, for instance, that you've got one or two blends that just take over other tobaccos when smoked in the same pipes. Those should be given their own pipes and the rest will probably play together nicely.
There are no hard and fast rules. If you like the way your tobaccos are tasting then you're doing it right.

maxx

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 10, 2015