PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

piperookie

Lurker
Mar 16, 2013
I'm a student in college and I just recently picked up a corncob to try. I have discussed pipe smoking with my parents a few times before and just recently broke it to them that I want to try smoking a pipe. Talk about a can of worms... I did manage to talk them down...kinda. Their main concern is my health, they don't want to see me get cancer. I tried to explain that since I don't inhale, it is much safer, but I think that has only bought me a few moments reprieve. As a beginner, any tips on dealing with the naysayers?

withnail

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 30, 2011
United Kingdom
The main danger from smoking is the damage to the delicate structure of the lungs when inhaling. As you say, this is a big factor in why many of us have switched from cigarettes to a pipe. Also, there are a lot of nasty chemicals in the paper wrapper of a cigarette which you are avoiding, not to mention the relaxation you get from a nice bowl of tobacco.
I can see why your parents are concerned as not smoking at all is safer than smoking even a pipe.

piperookie

Lurker
Mar 16, 2013
I have never smoked before and have never inhaled. The relaxation is really the part that I am interested in. My college career so far has been something of a mess and I would welcome the stress relief. Especially when finals roll around... If smoking is going to help my mental health then I can see that weighing against the physical health aspect?

auspipe

Starting to Get Obsessed
Feb 19, 2012
Australia