PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shanez

Lifer
Jul 10, 2018
Las Vegas
So a while back I decided to dabble a little in the dark arts and start trying/comparing various flakes and I have a few thoughts I thought I'd post here.
GH&C Dark Flake Unscented vs GH&C Brown Flake Unscented:
Nicotine: Most reviews say the nic-hit is stronger in the Dark over the Brown. While this may be true, I had a bowl of the Brown the other night on a not full stomach and it nearly knocked me down and made me nauseous. I didn't get sick but came close. So it seems for people who are not regular smokers we need to be aware that both of these are potent.
Tin Note: The Dark smell like Copenhagen but with a sweetness to me. The Brown overall smells nicer but had some quality that I can't place and while I didn't care for this component it didn't put me off smoking it.
Flavor: I'm not experienced enough to pick up all of the flavors mentioned in the reviews but the Dark is definitely more cigar-ish and, to me, sweeter. I really like the Dark. The Brown's flavor, just like the tin note, had something I'm not sure about. Both have a lot going on but the dark fruit and sweetness in the Dark were more noticeable won me over.
Temperature: The dark seemed to be definitely a cooler smoke. When I smoke the Brown at a slow enough pace to get a cooler, better tasting smoke, I have trouble keeping it lit even after a day of drying.
Harshness: The Dark, while noticeably strong, was also fairly smooth. I can't imagine what this stuff will be like with a few years on it. The Brown was either too spicy for my liking or just plain harsh. Maybe time with smooth it out and soften it.