PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

oldmojo

Might Stick Around
Jan 9, 2017
So, I've been searching the internet, including this forum, for a definition of the Danish Freehand style. I found a discussion here which unfortunately ended two years ago, and I can't figure out how to get to it while logged in.

Several opinions and points were included in the discussion, but I believe that some points were missed.

I bought my first of the type in the late '70s. It was a Ben Wade I saw an a local B&M shop. I saved for months to buy it (I was a college student at the time). I have loved this type of pipe ever since. Now I am beginning to carve my own, which prompted the internet search for images and definitions.

Of course, there is no standard definition as there are for other standard shapes. My search has led to some pictures of some very unusual pipes labeled as Danish Freehands. However, I have come up with a set of design elements which are often (but not always) featured in pipes of the genre. I would like to read others' comments and additions(?)

Probably the most often seen identifying design characteristic of the style is rough plateaux around the bowl rim and the stem mortise. (Yes, I know that this is not always the case) This element alone usually identifies a pipe as a Danish freehand. The bowl will generally have some variation of a roughly conical shape. The stem will usually be a "military" style (as opposed to flush fit). The shank will often have some sort of notch or indentation where it meets the bowl. I have seen many more "bents" than "straights". The carver will often shape to bring grain patterns to the fore, showing them to their best advantage. Other deviations from standard pipe shape might include features which enhance the way the pipe feels in the hand, or present lines or curves simply to please the eye.

I look forward to reading the observations of others on the subject...

Chasing Embers