PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhfar77

Lurker
Feb 20, 2015
Good Morning Gentlemen,
I am brand new to pipe smoking and this is my first post in a forum. I picked up a decent quality briar but I've found myself pining for a more than one bowl, and several days in a row. I decided to also get a corncob to get some rotation. I have the Missouri Meerschaum Missouri pride. Its a filtered pipe. How often should I be changing those cotton filters?
Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Edit: I apologize if this is a repeat post

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
You're told to change them every smoke, but I usually change them every three or four. You can use the least expensive

Medico filters, Dr.Grabow filters, or even the Savenelli balsa filters that you can rinse and re-use a few times. You can

also smoke your cob without a filter if you don't mind a fairly open draw. You can also buy MM corn cob pipes that are

not filtered; just read the descriptions of the pipes carefully. In addition, you might enjoy Old Dominion corn cob pipes

with reed stems, a real old timey cob pipes and high quality. Be sure to clean the entire MM pipe when you change the filters,

to keep things in good shape.

mcitinner1

Lifer
Apr 5, 2014
Missouri
Hi Jhfar, What's the 77 mean? I always change my filters after two bowls at the most because you can taste them a little at that point. A lot of people here don't use them at all.

igloo

Lifer
Jan 17, 2010
woodlands tx
While setting on the back porch hold filter between thumb and index finger ,thump said filter and go for distance .If you enjoy this sport grab some filters if not it will be ok not to use them .

phil67

Lifer
Dec 14, 2013
Personally I hate filters. No filter... no need to change it, much less purchase any.