PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jakubtrojanek

Lurker
Nov 19, 2018
Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to pipe smoking, I bought a MM Country Gentleman and a tin of Early Morning Pipe but I have been having a problem since the first bowl. When I first light the pipe it tastes great, I try to smoke it as slowly as I can so the bowl never gets hot and I can taste the flavour alright. However whenever I smoke about half the bowl it starts to taste horrible, It gets really bitter and sour, the pipe produces more smoke and it makes my mouth and throat really sore. I clean the pipe after every use, and I have no clue what the issue could be. I´ve read somewhere that you actually need to break in the corn cob by charring the wodden shank inside the bowl but I can´t even get all the way down to it and if I do I feel real sick afterwards cause I´m puffing on what tastes like burning wood or ashes. It really spoils the whole experience and I feel like I´m just wasting good tobacco. Would any of you more experienced pipe smokers have any advice on what could be causing it? It would really be appreciated.
Thank you
Jakub

Jan 28, 2018
Sarasota, FL
Probably has nothing to do with the cob and more to do with the tobacco being too wet or packed too tight. Or both. However, who knows, it is possible you just got a bad cob. It happens with briar now and then, even with the best carvers. All I can say is I have a number of cobs of varying shapes and sizes, none of them display the problem you're describing.

May 9, 2018
Raleigh, NC