PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

seadogontheland

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 4, 2014
Well, I have been a cig smoker for well over 20 years and lately got some news that I have the beginning stages of

COPD, chronic bronchitis to be exact. I don't want to quit the pipe since it brings me so much enjoyment...am I a fool? I don't usually inhale any pipe smoke but an occasional breath of straight VA or a VABUR which I plan on stopping. Give it to me honestly guys...what are your thoughts?

dulgunz

Can't Leave
Feb 11, 2015
I think, if you quit the cigarettes, you should be good to go with the pipe. I am not a doctor or play one on tv, its just my 2 cents. My Father smoked for many, many years all while being a coal miner. He eventually developed "Black Lung" and had to quit smoking. He does smoke a pipe with me when he visits but his health did get better when he quit cigarettes.

tarak

Lifer
Jun 23, 2013
South Dakota
Well the easy and hard answer is to stop. I'd have a real serious visit with your pulmonologist. COPD is a chronic, irreversible disease so you want to do all you can to halt continuing damage.

seadogontheland

Oct 4, 2014
Well cigs are out as of yesterday...don't even crave them. Thanks for the notes guys...good advice. I will take it slowly and listen to my body. The doctor thinks that the albuterol I'm taking is not a good match and wants to change me over to an Atropine based inhaler. The Albuterol almost makes me feel worse than I did when I had an exacerbation untreated...paradoxical bronchospasm. Yeesh!

jkrug

Lifer
Jan 23, 2015
Tough spot to be in and tough call to make. Can't speak for you but if it was me I'd quit the cigs and keep puffing my pipe possibly limiting how often I smoke the pipe.

Good luck with this issue. :puffy:

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013