PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
As a newbie, I've been scouring the 'net for info on all subjects related to pipe smoking. I've read a few times that some tobaccos burn hotter than others. Right now I am concentrating on aromatics and they all tend to burn hot.
I attributed this mostly to my ineffective smoking technique, but maybe it's also the tobacco?
My trouble with aromatics being hot is this: if I fill the bowl firmly, it gums up and is difficult to draw air through. If I pack it somewhat loosely, it doesn't gum up, but goes out all the time, requiring frequent relighting, unless I draw a lot. Both of which make the bowl too hot.
Can someone help a newbie out? What am I doing wrong? Or does it have to do with the tobacco more than anything else.

taerin

Lifer
May 22, 2012
If it's gumming up, you simply have wet tobacco, let it sit out for a bit, even some of the best blends ever made come to wet sometimes. It is really up to the blender how wet they come and up to you to decide how moist they should be when you light it up. Just air it out and check for change every half hour or so, while mixing it up. After a while of trial and error you will be able to feel the tobacco and now when it is right or when it must be dried.
The easy test is grab a piece of paper, if you pinch a clump of tobacco together and drop it on the paper, if it doesn't stick together at all it's too dry. If it stays together it is too wet. If it unfurls in front of your eyes then it is just right. That is a basic test and there is further fine tuning to do when you get better at it.

numbersix

Lifer
Jul 27, 2012
Thanks a lot Eric. I guess that's something I've been trying to avoid, but that may be the key to the problem.

spartan

Lifer
Aug 14, 2011