PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

zecezar

Lurker
Jan 25, 2013
Hi everybody,
I'm a novice pipe smoker here in Thailand, I recently bought a Banbury straight pipe and because of the lack of choice I opted for a pouch of aromatic, 7 seas gold blend.

I think the tobacco was too moist and lacking of hindsight I thought it was normal for an aromatic. It was of course very hard to keep lit, I got some of this disgusting sour condensation in my mouth that left me with sensitive teeth.
Even after changing for a drier less aromatic tobacco such as Borkum Riff original I still get some condensation. The pipe tends to get easily hot even though I try to smoke as slowly as possible. The lacquer on the outside has cracked and left a little dent. There is also this "metal filter" some people advise to remove I wonder about. In brief I am planning to buy a pipe of better quality, I am thinking about a Churchwarden maybe a Peterson, do you think it would help with my condensation problem?

What should I do with that metal piece?

Has anyone ever had teeth problems due to pipe smoking?
Thanks

piperl12

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 7, 2012