PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

piffyr

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 24, 2015
This Comoy’s Extraordinaire 499 is the last pipe in the restoquadrilogy that began with these…
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/1938-bbb-silver-mounted-poker-restoration-pic-heavy
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/comoy%e2%80%99s-specimen-straight-grain-229-restoration-pic-heavy
http://pipesmagazine.com/forums/topic/comoy%e2%80%99s-extraordinaire-235-restoration-pic-heavy
Its condition almost exactly mirrored the condition of the Extraordinaire 235 in the link above…
5YFoCVb.jpg

EiWn90T.jpg

pxvs96n.jpg

c4gg0lt.jpg

ISQUjfY.jpg

9K8eVTn.jpg

sLhYxdn.jpg

piffyr

Apr 24, 2015
So, again, there really isn’t much to be said. Same issues, same procedure. Here’s the pipe.
XObJ7DO.jpg

MnZXG7n.jpg

BTGc4tY.jpg

ohtn3sv.jpg

Qj9Qraf.jpg

5ain7Of.jpg

I’m no expert on Comoy dating. I tend to focus more on the nuts and bolts aspect of these old pipes. So, keep that in mind when I say that one thing that I find interesting about all three of the Comoys in this batch is that the markings don’t match up with what I would expect to see. Quite the opposite, in fact. However, that discussion is probably best left to thread of its own.

jzbdano

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 7, 2016
Great looking restoration. I started my first restoration project yesterday, this has given me some encouragement.

joeman

Can't Leave
Mar 6, 2016
South Carolina
Anthony, in the pre-resto image of the stem trademark, it appears there's a circle in the mouth of the 'C'. Did they insert a little circle of vulcanite into the stem to turn an 'O' into a 'C'? Sure looks like it on this one.
fk8qo6.jpg

Nice job.

dmcmtk

Lifer
Aug 23, 2013
That's correct Joe, hence the "three part C", done with three separate drillings. The white OD and inlay, the second drilling at the center and inlay, and the final drilling at the 3 o'clock position and inlay to create the C.
:)

piffyr