PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

wallbright

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 22, 2010
I used to be a big cigar smoker until about a year ago when I decided to quit. I slowly smoked all of my cigars until there weren't enough to fill my big humidor. I then switched them to a tupperware tub and have kept them there every since. However, when I went to check on them the other day I noticed that some have exploded from too high of moisture content (I moved down to Arkansas for school). Some of them are nice cigars, such as Padron Anniversario 1964 and some Cuban cigarillos, while some are cheap bulk cigars I bought over at JRCigars.com. I was wondering if it is possible to cut up the cigars into cigar leaf tobacco to smoke? If it is possible then how should I go about cutting up the cigars to make them into proper cigar leaf pipe tobacco?

ernest

Can't Leave
Aug 31, 2010
I have no idea or any experience in that area.Having said that,it would make for an interesting experiment.Perhaps record 3 or 4 different cuts of cigar such as fine,medium,coarse,and record how each one smokes.I would like to see the data on the test results when all testing is final.Cheers.

daveinlax

Charter Member
May 5, 2009
WISCONSIN
I mix chopped up cigars 5:1 with PS Balkan Supreme. Here's what I do. Line a tin can with very thin cedar sheets that are used to separate the layers in cigar boxes. Then press it for a week, chip it out and jar it for a while with some pieces of cedar. I really like this mixture!

fred

Lifer
Mar 21, 2010
Yes, this type of remixing of blends is done frequently.

It would be best to start with small batches in order to

discover what ratio of Cigar leaf to add to a blend that is

best in your taste profile. This should be done with use of

a scale and for me, 10:1 is the highest ratio I like.

wallbright

Aug 22, 2010