PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahitofmeth

Lurker
Nov 29, 2012
First off, I know this is a pipe forum but I've asked this in a few other forums first without much luck so I'm trying here hoping someone here can help me out...
I've been smoking Cafe Creme's since around 2003, about three or four a week back when I used to smoke cigarettes. Now that I've quit I smoke 2 or 3 a day although I try to limit it to 1. Over the years I've mostly used bic or cricket lighters and sometimes I would pick up a cheap novelty lighter and use it until it failed.
I recently purchased a Dunhill Rollagas (using Dunhill butane)and immediately I noticed a difference in flavor. Harsher on my tongue and throat and a slightly altered flavor of the cigarillo, notably being a little lighter and I notice a lingering taste on my tongue as the cigar flavor disappears. Initially I thought it was all in my head but I've done a few comparisons now lighting cigars one after another with both the rollagas and cricket lighter. The difference definitely exists.
It's not a scientific measure but I can see no difference in color of the flame used in the disposable lighter I use normally, to indicate a difference in temperature. No strong odor from the lighter either when I smell the needle/nozzle while it's open. Short of tasting the butane, I've run out of ideas to try and identify the source of the flavor. Everything else is the same, the way I light the cigars, distance to the flame, how hard a take a puff, storage of the cigar etc...

madmurdoc

Can't Leave
Dec 8, 2012
North Idaho
I've always used a match to light cigars, when I smoked em. I was always under the impression that a lighters chemicals affect the flavor.

ahitofmeth

Lurker
Nov 29, 2012
I've never had problems with using disposable lighters. I have noticed a few times with different lighters a slight difference in flavor but never anything as noticeable as with my new Rollagas.