PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

yazamitaz

Lifer
Mar 1, 2013
Hey all,
I wasn't sure if I should have put this in the newbie section or the tobacco section but I hope I can get some insight on this. Reading the Box Pass thread and seeing all those yummy tobacco's got me thinking; How did you all START selecting tobacco's?
I currently have 3 bulk tobacco's that I am smoking from my B&M, 1Q (hey I'm a noob), English Luxury (I believe a Stokkebye bulk blend), and something called Curious George which I believe has some VA/Per in it. I have read a lot of the reviews on the tinned tobaccos and wanted to know how you all got started on those. At $8-$15 per tin I don't want to just start buying tins of stuff I don't know I will like. It's not so much the money, I would just hate to buy something and not like it and then just toss it.
Maybe I am just over thinking this and should buy some tins. Your thoughts????
Thanks in advance,
Dan

spartan

Lifer
Aug 14, 2011
Well, aside from finding out if the seller has some good sampler packages worth your while... you kind of have to read the reviews and make your own mind up.
This is why the boxpass is so great. We get to try a tiny bit of MANY tobaccos for maybe $30 after postage and adding into the box if you are able to.
Read reviews and jump in with both feet. If you come across something that you do not like and you don't know a pipe smoker to give it to (guy behind the counter that you bought it from if he smokes a pipe) then seal it up in an air tight thingamajig and let it get some months under its belt and visit it again.
Over time your tastes may change as you smoke through many blends, and you may find that you enjoy the subtle notes in the blends you hate now.

rigmedic1

Lifer
May 29, 2011