PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Does anyone have special routines for selecting a pipe for the next smoke? I seem to have fallen

into the habit of picking out the pipes to smoke the next day or later in the day and setting them

out, so they are pre-selected. Sometimes I'll pass those by and choose another one, but often it

is pleasant to have the selection already made. I find this makes me look carefully to be sure I am

smoking all, or most of my pipes. I look for the ones I haven't smoked in a while. It also makes me

aware of where I have parked the various ones. Mostly they have places, but some float around.

Do you have routines or rituals that you follow? Even just diving for a pipe on impulse is a routine!

buffalopat

Lurker
Jul 15, 2014
I am relatively new at this, and I only smoke one bowl per day in the evening, so my routine is pretty basic. I have a pipe rack that holds 7 pipes. 4 briars and 3 cobs. I grab whichever pipe is next depending on the day of the week.

Jan 8, 2013
No routine for me. I usually just give my pipes a look over, perhaps pick a couple up and admire them, and then just choose the one which seems to speak to me at the time.

ravkesef

Lifer
Aug 10, 2010
Cheshire, CT
I'm with Anthony on this one. I've got over 100 briars, and I let my eye roam over them until I hear the one that's calling to me.

derfargin

Lifer
Mar 3, 2014
Kennesaw, GA
I have about 8 briars, 3 cobs and a maple hardwood. I usually pick which one depending on the tobacco I'm going to smoke. If its a complex Balkan, I'll pull my Pot, VA Flake it usually goes in the maple diplomat. Burley based blends usually get smoked in my Country Gent, now if the Gent hasn't been smoked in 8 hours, that usually gets moved to the top of the list, and I smoke whatever I damn well please in it.