PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

benton629

Lurker
Nov 8, 2013
Lafayette, Louisiana
I purchased some Carter Hall yesterday to see what the fuss is all about.

It is my first time with burley tobacco and really frustrating.

I tried it in two different pipes, sipped slowly, packed lightly but still ended up with a gurgling wet mess in the bottom of the bowl.

I'm drying some out on paper now and will try again this afternoon.

Anyone else experience this?

james80

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 16, 2012
I've only smoked 50g of CH so it's not a blend I am overly familiar with. However, I find it smokes fine. I tend to smoke it in my smaller pipes. Are your pipes properly rested? Would there be a condensation build up at the bottom of the bowl from a previous smoke?

yazamitaz

Lifer
Mar 1, 2013
I like to use CH as a break-in tobacco for my new pipes. I find it lights easily and smokes with little to no effort on my part. I think James may be on to something about rest time. Also, do you clean your pipes after every smoke?

phred

Lifer
Dec 11, 2012
Where are you smoking? Now that the weather's changing, I'm finding that I get more condensation gurgle as the steam cools in the stems when I smoke outside. Haven't had wetness issues with Burleys, but I smoke those specifically in my Mr. Brog churchwarden - small bowl, long stem. And I haven't tried Carter Hall yet at all, so no real basis for comparison there, but neither Sir Walter Raleigh or Sugar Barrel have turned into soup on me... at least not yet! :P

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
I'v only smoked CH a few times but, like Dan, I've found it easy to light and keep lit. I'll set the tobacco out for 15 minutes or so, then fill and pack my bowl. I ten to pack the bowl fairly tight, but keep a smooth draw.
-- Pat

leacha

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 19, 2013
Colorado