PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 14, 2013
So my new peterson came today and I was messing with it and I noticed I cant run a pipe cleaner through the pipe. When I removed the stem I noticed that the drilled hole in the pipe and the hole in the stem don't meet. Is this normal? If it is normal, is there anything I can to to stop a gurgle if I get one or will I jist have to put up with it?

pruss

Lifer
Feb 6, 2013
Mytown
I'm no expert on Petes, but it sounds like this might be a system pipe.
Here is a nice write up on how the system works and its history: http://www.pipedia.org/wiki/A_closer_look_at_the_famous_Peterson_Standard_System_Pipe
Good luck,
-- Pat

Aug 14, 2013
Thanks for the link Pat. I'm pretty sure it isn't a system pipe. It's set up the same as a normal pipe it's just that the drill hole is at the top rather than in the center.

smeigs

Lifer
Jun 26, 2012
Yes it can be normal. I have probably 5 pipes that I cant get a cleaner all the way through. It by no means makes it a "bad" pipe. It is just a small imperfection by the manufacturer. The hole is just drilled off center from where the stem meets it. Try wiggling and working that pipe cleaner around, you might be able to slide it all the way through with a little movement. Some pipes are just this way so dont get too worked up about it.

wayneteipen

Can't Leave
May 7, 2012
What shape is your Pete? My experience has been that their bent shapes can be drilled high. That has been true of all of my 999's and 80s's. As long as the tenon doesn't obstruct the airway it should perform okay. If it's not too high, you can try putting a 15 degree bend at the end of your pipe cleaner and give it a twist while trying to advance through the airway. If that doesn't work and you're determined that it needs to pass a pipe cleaner you can send it off to have the airway ramped by a repairman. It's not a DIY fix for most.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
Wayneteipen said,