PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbradsim1

Lifer
Jan 14, 2012
Southwest Louisiana
This morning I called my Congressman, spoke to an aide, There is an Honor Flight due in today and there was talk of Mounted Police to be at Barricades of WWIi Memorial. Told the aide my congressman should be at that barricade to make sure those men who traveled far and are in the Winter of their life get to see this. I told her I was a Vet and was so disgusted with my Government.

taerin

Lifer
May 22, 2012

dcrguns

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 19, 2013
Ruidoso, NM
I got this note from my congressman:
As of midnight, the Democrat-controlled Senate has refused to pass any of the three continuing resolutions proposed by the House of Representatives. As a result, the federal government will shut down until an agreement can be reached to resume government funding.
I have always believed that Congress should be held to the same standards as everyone else. As a result, I have made the difficult decision that my staff will be furloughed. And, though the Constitution requires that members of Congress must be paid, I will pay back to the U.S. Treasury the salary I am paid during the shutdown. I had hoped that a shutdown could be avoided: I encourage all New Mexicans to contact their Senators and urge them to pass the House Continuing Resolution and end the shutdown.
I have voted three times to prevent a shutdown, and have asked all sides to negotiate and compromise to reach a fair solution.