Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

will346

Lurker
Nov 30, 2015
Hi Guys, not sure if I'm posting correctly, can't quite figure this site out. Anyway, one of my pipes (Peterson system 303) which I have been smoking in my rotation for the past two years seems to have developed a 'channel' in the heel of it where I use my pipe tool to unblock and clear out the airhole as it builds up with gunk from smoking. I ream it regularly. However, I suspect the the reamer isn't quite reaching the very heel of the pipe, or that the end of the reamer is too thin. I further suspect their is excess cake in the sides of the heel of the bowl that has led to their being a strange channel in the end of my pipe. I can't imagine that the pipe tool has gradually worn away the actual briar in the heel of the pipe. Sorry this is so long winded. Has anyone ever had a similar problem? I recently reamed the heck out if trying to get rid of the strange channel in the bottom of it, but to no avail. Now she's not smoking as cool as she used to and I'm not a happy camper.

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
Having some cake in the bottom of the chamber is normal and not a bad thing. It acts as an insulator. The only issue would be if the heel cake is affecting the draw. If it isn't, leave it alone. To reduce the need to use a reamer, wipe down the chamber walls with a couple of pipe cleaners after every smoke and use wadded up paper toweling to remove buildup at the end of a day's use.