PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

geirove

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 10, 2014
Ive been smoking pipes for about 7 months now. I have a wonderful source of estate pipes, Stanwells, Savs, Peterson etc

I was nearly about to pull the trigger for two very nice, but expensive artisian pipes. But then I thought, I rather spend the money on tobacco to stock up.
If you where new and should buy now, or If you are new to pipe smoking, what do you spend your money on? Tobacco or Pipes?
Is it better to stock up on tobacco and buy estate pipes rather than spend big on new pipes?

mrenglish

Lifer
Dec 25, 2010
Columbus, Ohio
Focus on pipe tobacco at this point until you get a good stash. Keep experimenting with different tobaccos. After you get where you are starting to get comfortable with your tobacco, then branch out more into pipes. Odds are very good that the hammer will fall on pipe tobacco so get what you can while you can.
As for estates or new pipes, that is your preference. I've never really taken to estates but they are a good way to save money and get the nicer pipes. But, in my opinion, focus on your building your stash first.

May 4, 2015
^ all of that stuff.
I wish I had some of the money back I wasted on pipes that I am indifferent about now. I'd have lots more tins of lovely tobacco.

bullethead

Lurker
Jun 20, 2015
I started out 2 years ago, after putting down the pipe after I graduated college (close to 20 years ago). What I did was a healthy pipe acquisition over 2 years, about 1 pipe a month, then at the same time started sampling tobacco.
the tobacco and pipe hobby I find is great way to spend very little money compared to an electronic gadget habit, or at least that is what I was doing before getting into pipes and tobaccos.