Burnt Rubber aroma on new pipe, vulcanite?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigpond

Lifer
Oct 14, 2014
Received a new and unsmoked pipe yesterday. I noticed straight off the vulcanite stem was far less glossy than I'm used to seeing from new pipes. As soon as I tried the draw I was punched in the face by an overwhelming aroma of burnt rubber. After a light cleaning the aroma was undaunted and a foul aftertaste remained for a long while after merely drawing on the pipe.
The odor seems to be centered around a single point, where the V-groove begins to widen to meet the button.
My initial impression was the vulcanite is oxidized, though I have no experience with this. None of my vulcanite stemmed pipes (new and estate) have exhibited an aroma like this. I'm not sure if the fact that the odor seems to be centered near the V-groove suggests a construction issue like a scorch during drilling, for example.
Any insight?

leacha

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 19, 2013
Colorado
My thoughts about the scorching exactly. I had a new pipe that had the same problem. I just put it down in the dark basement after a good cleaning with everclear for about 6 months. Started to smoke it about 3 weeks ago all is fine.

bigpond

Lifer
Oct 14, 2014
Thanks Andrew. That put's a new spin on cellaring. On an estate that is something I might be more willing to do.

bigpond

Lifer
Oct 14, 2014
Well, just chatted with SP about this. I asked the customer service agent to check on a nearly identical pipe, Sebastien Beo billiard. Turns out the other pipe had the same burnt rubber odor. He said this is the first time they've heard of this and he seemed certain that earlier pipes from Beo didn't have this issue.