PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 15, 2016
Hi all,
I have been smoking cigars for a couple years off and on (A few sticks on the weekends maybe).
Just got my first pipe about a month ago. I think I like the pipe smoking a lot better. I find the taste generally more pleasing. Anyways, I think I'm expecting the pipe to smoke like a cigar. I keep burning my tongue, which lasts a couple days. I have only tried three tobaccos at this point... One of which seems to burn my tongue most definitely. It's called Columbian Mocha. It was bulk tobacco. There was the house brand bulk which I have been smoking and it doesn't seem to burn my tongue.
My question is this... Will a certain tobacco blend just smoke too Hot? Or is it my lack of experience or other factors I am not aware? Also, I am smoking basically what I think is a "basket pipe" will that also affect the smoke quality?
Welcome to the Forum! Fixed thread title, please see rule number 9. Pertinent portion: Please capitalize words in the thread titles. Thank you, Robert.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
A former cigar smoker will be of more help than I, but you might be lighting-up too aggressively. In a pipe, most of the burn will come from steam, not hot air. This will be true if your smokes end with unburnt, wet dottle in the bottom of the bowl.
If not, then switch to a stronger blend, or one with more body and/or flavor. It might be that you're puffing too much or too hard, trying to get more flavor than your chosen blend can deliver.
Try searching PipesAndCigars or SmokingPipes for blends featuring "cigar leaf". Just maybe, you need a transition blend.

prairiedruid

Lifer
Jun 30, 2015