PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

krizzose

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013
Michigan
I’m thinking of trying a few of the burley flakes out there. I’m not a fan of too much DFK (though a little bit is fine), however, and I like my burley blends on the sweeter side. How would you rank the various burley flakes by sweetness? Thanks!

redone

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 4, 2018
Well, I’m new and clearly haven’t tried a ton of them but I have to say I’m CRAZY about Mac Baren HH Burley Flake. I don’t find it to be extremely sweet.

npod

Lifer
Jun 11, 2017
+1
HH Burley Flake is wonderful. It has now moved up to all-time-favorites list. And it is readily available vs Solani Aged Burley Flake, which is also good. Both are just right in the natural sweetness department, IMHO. I can't rank them per se, because those are the only two burley flakes I smoke.

ekert

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 26, 2018
I'm still a newbie but it seems I like burley because I have really enjoyed Stonehaven, HH burley flake, Solani aged burley flake, and Peterson Irish flake.

Jan 28, 2018
Sarasota, FL
I think you'll find most sweet tasting burleys have a bit of a topping/casing to them. I think Wessex Burley Slices and Solani Aged Burley Flake have toppings. I know the Solani does, my taster says Wessex does as well. And I don't really care much for either despite these two being quite popular.
I found Uhle's 00 to be nice, I think no topping (or if so, very, very slight) and it has a slight sweet taste. They have a White Burley blend that has a sweet note as well. I also found some sweetness with Watch City Slices and their Deluxe Crumb Cut. I think the crumb cut has some Cavendish in it so that would explain the sweetness there.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Not flake, but Peterson 3P plug, Va/burley, is excellent to me. I'm devoted to burley in its various forms.

ernieq

Might Stick Around
Aug 9, 2018