PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

drcarlo

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 31, 2013
I have recently been smoking Peterson's University Flake.

It is great!
However, I have no other experiences with non-aro blends with burley. Can you recommend burley blends, where the characteristics of the burley is clearly present?

I suspect the topping may cover something....or?

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
Cornell and Diehl Burley Flake # 2 has full-on burley flavor. Wessex Burley Slice has lots of dark burley flavor, but is moderately cased. Uhle's Blend 00 is a nutty burley ribbon with perhaps a tiny bit of sugar casing.

lazybugger

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 9, 2012
Peter heinricks dark strong kentucky and solani old aged ... the two best I have ever tried

doctorthoss

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 6, 2011
Not a problem. There are plenty of good burley blends on the market and several great ones. Few are strictly burley (which has a nutty, unsweetened cocoa-like flavor on its own)
The top-tier burley is usually considered to be Solani's Aged Burley Flake. It's pure burley, although it's processed in such a way that it's hardly representative of burley. Other great candidates would be Prince Albert and Carter Hall. Of course, the company that has done the most with burley in recent years is Cornell and Diehl, who have a whole stable of great burley blends including a whole series of strong flakes that use condimental amounts of virginia, perique or latakia. Haunted Bookshop is also very popular, while my all-time favorite smoke is Old Joe Krantz, which is a powerful concoction of burleys and perique with a little VA for sweetness.
If you like aros, I would highly recommend Hearth and Home's Classic Burley Kake. While this is an aromatic, the flavoring agents are prepared in such a way as to enhance the tobacco's flavor instead of covering it up.

romeowood

Lifer
Jan 1, 2011
The Interwebs