PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwlinder111

Lurker
Aug 13, 2016
So I am new to this lifestyle as I'll call it. In my short month I have been smoking I have grown found of my local tobacconist house blend burley. I am writing to see if there are any burleys that could be recommended. Thanks

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Go to one of our online sponsors, and then to Cornell & Diehl tobaccos both tinned and bulk (sold in baggies). C&D is at the forefront of burley blends and has scores of blends. I'd buy in small quantities and sample a selection. You might like Billy Budd, Old Joe Krantz, and many others.

dottiewarden

Lifer
Mar 25, 2014
Toronto
Many will recommend Haunted Bookshop and Burley Without Bite
I'm currently smoking Mac Baren Golden Extra (or Golden Blend if you are in Europe). This stuff is mild but tasty. I'm also a big fan of Peterson Irish Flake and Peterson University Flake.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
Another place to check out is Uhle's. Many of their blends date back to the late 1930's and 1940's. Some fine burley blends by them. Good luck with your progress.

Mar 1, 2014
Being the Aromatic nut that I am, Cornell & Diehl Crooner is pretty good. Some people say it could ghost your pipe, I might agree.
I'd have no objection to a straght cube cut Burley either.

Check out Five Brothers for the lowest maintenance smoke you will ever find.

pagan

Lifer
May 6, 2016
West Texas
I like Billy Budd, Carter Hall and Captain Black. You might want to try some Dark Fired Kentucky, Id suggest War Horse Ready-Cut or get a Kentucky Dark Fired Step Ladder Sampler from P&C
http://www.pipesandcigars.com/samplers/90372/kentucky-dark-fired-step-ladder-sampler/#p-169218

beefeater33

Lifer
Apr 14, 2014
Central Ohio
C&D Big and Burley really floats my goat as my morning commute smoke.

Yea that stuff floats mine too............... :rofl:
oZBxAB1.jpg

ravkesef

Lifer
Aug 10, 2010
Cheshire, CT