PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

backwoodsjack

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 25, 2015
Central Minnesota
Can someone please review the difference between the bulk and tinned Nightcap?

I am thinking of jarring a good load for aging, and wonder if I would be happy with the bulk.
Thanks

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA
There may be differences batch-to-batch. And a tinned sample will age differently than bulk that has been sitting out in a jar (or even a sealed bag) for a while. Buy your bulk from someone who moves a lot of it. P&C moves more McClelland blends than anyone else, and they store their bulks in a temperature and humidity-controled warehouse.

mayfair70

Lifer
Sep 14, 2015
I will preface my remarks by saying I am not an expert, and don't have a very discriminating palate. If Woodsroad says they are the same, then, they are the same. If it is good enough for Tbradsim1, it should be good enough for me or anyone else. However, I ordered bulk Nightcap once and noticed enough of a difference from the tinned that I have never ordered it again. It may be there is more exposure to air with the bulk, it may have been an atypical batch, my taste may have been off, maybe I was coming down with something; It could have been all or none of those things, or it could have been something else. I didn't like it as much as the tinned version. That Je Ne Sais Quoi was gone. Something was missing, and I recommend trying out a smaller sample before going big. Again, I'm probably nuts, but Your Mileage May Vary. If I had to pin it down, I blame Space Aliens. Good Luck!
Edit: Glad you said that Woodsroad!! :)

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA
Mayfair, I think that P&C carries Je Ne Sais Quoi in a squirt bottle. Just add a splurtch to every Ball jar, or a splash behind both ears.

scrooge

Lifer
Apr 24, 2015