PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gulfcowboy

Lurker
Jul 1, 2018
I've been trying out both english and aromatic blends as I'm still a novice. I find myself leaning more towards english blends. Not to say that I don't enjoy my lane 1Q. My question being is there a good bulk english blends? Also any good substitutes for frog morton?

techie

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 20, 2018
Boswell Northwoods get's many recommendations. I'm also a novice and got a sample of the Northwoods. I recommend you give it a try.

pianopuffer

Can't Leave
Jul 3, 2017
NYC
I second the other suggestions here. Proper English, to me, is more of a full bodied blend and may be a bit much if you’re starting out.
I recently tried Old Professor from Sutliff and was very pleased. Good price point too.

Others that come to mind are Boswell Countryside as well as Rattrays Bagpiper.

prairiedruid

Lifer
Jun 30, 2015
PS Proper English, PS English Oriental Supreme are great blends and Pipes & Cigars has a 25% off deal on them this month.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
English blends are so numerous, you have to sample around and see what suits you. One sturdy flavorful blend is C&D Stratfordshire and another of theirs is Bayou Night, but they are probably on the fuller strength end. Not bulk, but low priced, is PC Midtown (Russ O.'s) Chestnut, a pleasant non-aro sold in tubs. Lane has 'em in bulk, Sutliff, PS, and others.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Akron area of Ohio
I consider GLP blends to be among the finest Latakia blends available nowadays. I also consider 8oz and 16oz tins to be bulk with the benefit of a tinned blend. Look at them. Good stuff.

Mike S.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Akron area of Ohio
I consider GLP blends to be among the finest Latakia blends available nowadays. I also consider 8oz and 16oz tins to be bulk with the benefit of a tinned blend. Look at them. Good stuff.

Mike S. Oops.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013