PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctron

Lurker
Mar 25, 2013
So I have a tin of GLP triple play dated 010614 that has developed a bulge in the bottom of the tin so it no longer sits flat. Does anyone know what causes this? I've seen vintage tins with this problem but this is only 10 months old.

mikestanley

Lifer
May 10, 2009
Akron area of Ohio
I notice this more on tins coming from C&D. I assume that it's for two reasons. One, they use the nice pop top tins which probably swell more easily that coin twist. Two, McClelland, the other major blending house using pop top tins tins their tobacco blends in an environment that is oxygen depleted (or so I have heard) so the higher oxygen amounts in the C&D tins simply promotes quicker and perhaps more obvious early onset reactions (aging). At least that's what I think, and I'm no scientist. Another thing I believe is it doesn't hurt anything. A good percentage of my cellar is pop top tins, most of the older tins are swollen and none of these swollen tins that I have opened in the past 15 yrs or so were anytthing but perfectly aged to the extent that time had permitted. If anything, the swelling is your assurance that the tin's seal and seams are intact.
Mike S.

ctron

Lurker
Mar 25, 2013
Sam, they are stored in a drawer in a room kept at about 68F but are open to the changes of New England humidity. I didn't think it was at risk of exploding but I was unsure if this meant I should move it to a jar. Thanks for the info mikestanley!

beezer

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 12, 2013