PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxx

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 10, 2015
How did you go about choosing your pipes? I'm new to pipe smoking, and my first choice was a Peterson Donegal Rocky B5 Bent Bulldog. After that I wanted something more conventional so I got a Billiard, a Peterson 106 Kenmare. I'm about to order my next two pipes and they'll be a Poker by Scott Hudson and an Italian large Pot (unamed until I order it). My approach is to not repeat exact styles, to have a variety of types. The Italian will differ in size and capacity from the Peterson (I've become obsessed with chamber diameters,), and the Poker differs significantly from the other three. Although I plan to get a Dublin eventually, my fifth pipe will probably be some kind of bent desgn, maybe one of the Peterson Sherlock Holmes pipes. My goal is to have at least seven pipes.

elbert

Mar 10, 2015
Interesting, my first pipe was a Donegal Rocky as well. I've followed a similar course--a variety of shapes, stems, and finishes from the big name midrange producers. The pipe I have coming to me fills my last major 'gap', as it will be dedicated to VaPer's, so after that I'll be able to space out my purchases a little more and go for pipes that really call to me.

jackswilling

Lifer
Feb 15, 2015
I am fairly neurotic. I took a liking to the look of the Zulu shape, got one and liked its moderate size and graceful lines. Enoyed how it smoked and then decided to carry through with Zulu shapes on all my pipes. Now I have 10 new and vintage, plus my Make Twain Dublin Cobs, as the Dublin is the closest Missouri Meerschaum shape to a Zulu. Zulu and Dublin are related. Shooting for the "magic number" of 112 briar Zulu pipes +/- plus a few Mark Twains.

elbert

Mar 10, 2015
Errr...that is a little neurotic. :crazy:
But I wish you good fortune in your search! Live long and--oh..."Zulu"...nevermind.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.