PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

sagar

Might Stick Around
Jun 7, 2011
Since I am a new pipe smoker,I am not an expert about taking care of my briar pipes.Someone told me to build up a good carbon cake inside the pipe bowl,I should leave the ashes inside the bowl as it is after each smoking.Is it true?I am confused!! If I leave the ashes uncleaned inside the bowl,whenever I put fresh tobacco for smoking, doesn't it mix up with ashes and tastes bad? Actually I clean my pipes thoroughly with a pipe cleaner after each smoke.I don’t keep any ashes inside the bowl.So please can anyone tell me how to build up a good carbon cake and how long does it take?

nemrod

Can't Leave
Apr 28, 2011
Sweden
You shouldn't leave the ashes in the pipe. You seem to be doing it just right, empty the bowl and run a pipe cleaner through the stem/shank and some bend a pipe cleaner and clean the bowl with it as well. The cake will still build up, it takes time though, but it doesn't really have to be very thick at all.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
I too have heard the advice about leaving the dusty ash on the sides of the bowl wall, and I don't agree with it.

In fact, I do quite the opposite: for a few weeks or so, I'll stuff a paper towel into the bowl after every smoke

and twist it so as to burnish the inside of the bowl. At first this removes the initial stages of carbon build-up,

but slowly a thin carbon layer of incredible hardness develops.

jimbo

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 7, 2010