PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bookn3rd5

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 29, 2012
Hello again everyone! As you all may know, I'm still new to pipe smoking. Just ordered my first pipe a couple of days ago, and I'm already looking at others. Anyways, per the advice of some other posters, I have been doing a little bit of research on tobaccos. Now, I'm a bit torn because almost everyone recommends starting off with aromatics; and yet there are some who don't smoke them because of tongue bite. I would like to avoid tongue bite (and yes, I realize that eventually it probably is going to happen) but I wanted to ask you all for advice. I do realize there are other threads like this one, but I figured the best way to get answers would be to create my own thread.
So I was looking through some sampler packs of tobacco on pipesandcigars.com, and I noticed that they have some Brigadier Black sales going on right now (four 8 oz tins for around $50). I found some threads talking about these flavors, and the feedback seems very positive. Because of the price, I find myself debating on what my next step should be. Should I go ahead and spend the money on tobacco that has been reviewed pretty well, or should I play it safe and just purchase a more mild, traditional tobacco (example: 1Q). I'm torn because I went on tobaccoreviews.com and the feedback regarding 1Q was kind of split right down the middle. Some like it, some don't.
So, I guess I'm just looking for some suggestions. What would you all do if you were in my position? What are your thoughts on the Brigadier Black favors for someone who is just getting into pipe smoking? I appreciate any feedback you can provide me!

bookn3rd5

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 29, 2012
I've also read quite a few good reviews about the Frog Morton series, which they also have sampler packs of (http://pipesandcigars.com/frwecosa.html#.UL-xLIPBFic). Would any of you recommend this type for beginners?

bookn3rd5