Brick N Morter blend vs. Internet blend.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

addamsruspipe

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 4, 2016
Albuquerque, NM
Morning to all, Just wanted to pick the brains of the experts out there. I am new to pipe smoking and was curious about what is the difference between a blend made by my local tobacconist and what is available on the internet with the same name. Is the price the only difference or is there an actual difference in the blend itself?

You'll have to be a little more specific. Which blend and by whom?

Some tobacconist just put out blends like 1-Q and rename them something fancy. Most will be honest and tell you what the real name is, and others like the Mountain Burlier in Gatlinburg will chose to lie to your face while climbing trees than admit that they are renaming Peter Stokkebye blends.
Most likely, if the tobacconist is still selling the blend at this point in FDA regulations, it is merely a renamed blend. If they are actually mixing things together, they may have to pay for a manufacturing licence, which no B&M could afford.

addamsruspipe

Dec 4, 2016
Albuquerque, NM
Well for example they have a black cordial that I like and they are telling me that they blend it themselves. They also have medal of valor that almost blew my head off. Both of which I have found on the internet. The shop has been there for over 30 years/same owners, so I assume they are telling the truth when they say they make their own blends.

addamsruspipe

Dec 4, 2016
Albuquerque, NM