PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

cohiba007

Might Stick Around
Nov 12, 2018
Orlando FL
It seems almost every bowl in my corn cobs have no problem staying lit. Totally the opposite of my briars. I am pretty new to pipe smoking but I think I’ve got my packing down pretty well and I always let my tobacco dry before packing. But it seems I cant keep my briars lit and my cobs almost always burn nicely. What gives?

May 9, 2018
Raleigh, NC
Maybe the draft hole in your cobs is a lot more open than your briars? I would think that if the draft holes are different between the two, then try changing how tight you're packing in the briar. I know some of my cobs can take a tighter pack than my briars do because the draft hole in my cobs is so much larger. The hole size difference could be affecting the draft as you puff, meaning that you might be packing too tightly and it's not letting the proper amount of air flow through the tobacco. I'd try packing a little looser in your briars for a few bowls. You can always tamp it down if it feels too loose.
Another test you could try is to pack both a briar and a cob the same way and test the draw. If the briar is too tight on the draw, then you might try loosening the pack in it, so dump it and refill testing the draw as you go.

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
I don't even remotely think about my pipes staying lit. I smoke them while doing things and they sometimes go out, so I relight and move on.

cohiba007

Might Stick Around
Nov 12, 2018
Orlando FL
OK. Thank you. Ill try the above mentioned tips. Except for Ashdiggers. I guess I just got a fact about himself. LOL

trouttimes

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
Lake Martin, AL
I have found some pipes like a looser pack than others. I don't know why but my Chacom needs a lite pack compared to my Dr. G's. Maybe some of these folks with more experience can explain it.

cohiba007

Might Stick Around
Nov 12, 2018